

Rutland County Council

Catmose, Oakham, Rutland, LE15 6HP Telephone 01572 722577 Facsimile 01572 75307 DX28340 Oakham

Members of Rutland County Council District Council are hereby summoned to attend the TWENTY FIRST ANNUAL AND TWO HUNDRED AND SIXTY SECOND MEETING OF THE COUNCIL to be held in the Council Chamber at Catmose, Oakham on 8 May 2017 commencing at 7.00 pm. The business to be transacted at the meeting is specified in the Agenda set out below.

Prior to the commencement of the meeting, the Chairman will offer the opportunity for those present to join him in prayers.

Recording of Council Meetings: Any member of the public may film, audio-record, take photographs and use social media to report the proceedings of any meeting that is open to the public. A protocol on this facility is available at www.rutland.gov.uk/haveyoursay

Helen Briggs Chief Executive

AGENDA

1) APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

To receive any apologies for absence from Members.

2) CHAIRMAN'S ANNOUNCEMENTS

To receive any announcements by the Chairman.

3) ANNOUNCEMENTS FROM THE LEADER, MEMBERS OF THE CABINET OR THE HEAD OF PAID SERVICE

To receive any announcements by the Leader, Members of the Cabinet or the Head of Paid Service.

4) DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

In accordance with the Regulations, Members are invited to declare any disclosable interests under the Code of Conduct and the nature of those interests in respect of items on this Agenda and/or indicate if Section 106 of the Local Government Finance Act 1992 applies to them.

5) QUESTIONS FROM MEMBERS OF THE COUNCIL

To receive any questions received from Members of the Council in accordance with the provisions of Procedure Rule 30 and 30A

6) ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN OF THE COUNCIL

The Chief Executive will invite nominations for office of Chairman of the Council for the Municipal Year 2017/18.

Upon election, the incoming Chairman of the Council will be invested with the Chairman's Chain of Office by the outgoing Chairman.

The incoming Chairman will then take the Chairman's Chair.

The Chairman of the Council may make a short speech of acceptance of office.

7) ELECTION OF VICE-CHAIRMAN OF THE COUNCIL

The Chairman of the Council will invite nominations for the office of Vice-Chairman of the Council for the Municipal Year 2017/18.

Upon appointment, the outgoing Vice-Chairman will invest the incoming Vice-Chairman with the Chain of Office. The Chairman of the Council will then invite the Vice-Chairman to take the Vice-Chairman's Chair. In the event of the Vice-Chairman being re-elected, the Vice-Chairman will retain the Chain of Office and remain seated.

The Vice-Chairman of the Council may make a short speech of acceptance of office.

8) APPOINTMENT OF EXECUTIVE AND LEADERS SCHEME OF DELEGATION AND CABINET PROCEDURE RULES

To receive Report No.108/2017 from Director for Resources.

9) ESTABLISHMENT OF SCRUTINY PANELS AND STANDING COMMITTEES AND SCHEME OF DELEGATION (Pages 5 - 44)

To receive Report No.103/2017 from the Director for Resources.

10) POLITICAL BALANCE AND ALLOCATION OF SEATS TO POLITICAL GROUPS (Pages 45 - 50)

To receive Report No. 109/2017 from the Director for Resources.

11) APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRMEN OF SCRUTINY PANELS AND THE SCRUTINY COMMISSION

Scrutiny Panels

The Council is requested to appoint Chairman to each of the following Scrutiny Panels for the Municipal Year 2017/18:

- i. Adults and Health Scrutiny Panel
- ii. Children and Young People Scrutiny Panel
- iii. Growth, Infrastructure and Resources Scrutiny Panel

Scrutiny Commission

The Council is requested to appoint the Chairman of the Scrutiny Commission from one of the three Chairmen of the Scrutiny Panels appointed above.

In accordance with the provisions of Procedure Rule 192, the Chairmen of the Scrutiny Panels listed above will be automatically appointed to the Scrutiny Commission for the period of their office.

12) APPOINTMENT OF MEMBERS TO SCRUTINY PANELS

To appoint Elected Members (other than those appointed to the Cabinet and the Chairmanship of Scrutiny Panels) to each of the following Scrutiny Panels for the Municipal Year 2017/18:-

Adults and Health Scrutiny Panel 6 Places
Children and Young People Scrutiny Panel 6 Places
Growth, Infrastructure and Resources Scrutiny Panel 6 Places

13) CHAIRMAN AND VICE-CHAIRMAN OF COUNCIL COMMITTEES

- a) To elect the Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the following Standing Committees of the Council:
 - i. Audit and Risk Committee
 - ii. Conduct Committee
 - iii. Planning and Licensing Committee
 - iv. Employment and Appeals Committee
- b) To note that the Chairperson of the Health and Wellbeing Board will be the Portfolio Holder with responsibility for Health as set out in its Terms of Reference.

14) MEMBERSHIP OF COUNCIL COMMITTEES

- a) To appoint the remaining Members of the following Standing Committees of the Council assuming both a Chairman and Vice-Chairman have been elected in (12) above:
 - i. Audit and Risk Committee

ii	Conduct Committee	4 Places
11.	Conduct Committee	4 Places

iii. Planning and Licensing Committee 8 Places

iv. Employment and Appeals Committee 5 Places

b) To appoint an additional elected member of Rutland County Council to the Health and Well Being Board in accordance with its Terms of Reference.

15) PROGRAMME OF MEETINGS 2017/18 (Pages 51 - 58)

To receive Report No.106/2017 from the Director for Resources.

16) APPOINTMENTS TO OUTSIDE ORGANISATIONS, WORKING GROUP AND FORA (Pages 59 - 76)

To receive Report No. 107/2017 from the Director for Resources.

17) MATTERS REFERRED TO COUNCIL BY MEMBERS OF THE COUNCIL

To consider any matters referred to Council by Members which in the opinion of the Chief Executive cannot wait until the next scheduled meeting of the Council to be determined.

---oOo---

TO: MEMBERS OF THE COUNCIL

Mr K Bool – Chairman of the Council Mr E Baines – Vice-Chairman of the Council

Mr N Begy Mr O Bird Miss R Burkitt Mr B Callaghan Mr R Clifton Mr G Conde Mr W Cross Mr J Dale Mr R Foster Mrs J Fox Mr R Gale Mr O Hemslev Mrs D MacDuff Mr J Lammie Mr A Mann Mr T Mathias Mr M Oxlev Mr C Parsons Mrs L Stephenson Mr A Stewart Mr K Thomas Miss G Waller Mr A Walters Mr D Wilby

---oOo---

THE COUNCIL'S STRATEGIC AIMS

Sustainable Growth
Safeguarding
Reaching our Full Potential
Sound Financial and Workforce Planning